DSCN0225  

As a child I LOVED Broccoli Casserole.  I liked it so much that my Mom taught me how to make it.   We made it so frequently that I memorized the ingredients and could rehearse the instructions by heart.  I cooked it last night as it made me nostalgic.  Simply the smell of it reminds me of the yellow bowl my Mom used to make it in.  And, I can remember grating the cheese and tearing with the onion.    I have other broccoli recipes, but this recipe is special. More than a meal, it is a dish of memories topped with sentimentality and spiced with reminence.  I can hardly wait to find out what Beatrice’s favorite recipes will be. More, I can not wait to cook together – just like my mother did with me. It will be so much fun!  I placed it with a Grilled Rib-eye, salad and wine.   It’s really easy. And, really yummy. Enjoy!

wine 

Broccoli Casserole from Aunt Jessie & Bert Beam’s Kitchen

2 (10 oz.) boxes chopped, frozen broccoli
1 can mushroom soup
1 cup grated sharp cheddar
2 tablespoons grated onion
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup Mayonnaise
salt & pepper to taste
1 bag crushed Ritz crackers
1/2 stick of butter

Cook broccoli. Drain. Mix with all the ingredients in a casserole dish.  Crush the crackers in the bag. Melt butter. Mix the butter with the crackers. Top the casserole.

Cook for 20 minutes at 400 degrees (cook until it bubbles)

Variations:  1/2 can mushroom soup/1/2 can celery soup 0r, 1/2 cup mayonnaise/1/2 cup sour cream.