My life is in some ways one gigantic music quest. My ears are not choosy as I simply love a range of sounds from a range of genres. I am not very educated in this area. Rather, I am a novice with little skill or knowledge. In this case, ignorance is bliss because I love it all!

Unlike my husband, who has a far superior ear I am often drawn to lyrics.  I can get lost in them. The lyrics take me away while giving me the opportunity to dream a little, wish a little, and escape a lot. While checking out Daily Scribblings, I stumbled upon a new favorite song,  ‘Strawberry’ by Paul Baribeau.  It has the best lyrics. This is my new love song to my husband while also my new love song to Beatrice. I would love to find either of them growing out in the woods. I would pick as many of them as I could.  I would then have huge basket of them. 

A tisket, a tasket. Brian and B in my basket.

You can read Andrea’s well written introduction to the song, here

Here is a link to Paul’s Baribeau myspace, here.

*Photo compliments of  jrabbiton flickr.

And, here are the super lyrics:

to say that you are cute

would be like saying that a strawberry is sweet

cause a strawberry has secret flavors that are sharp, and tart, and red, and deep

and i would love to find you growing wild out by the woods

i would make a basket with the front of my t-shirt

and take home as many of you as i could

and to say that you are pretty

would be like saying that the ocean is blue

cause the ocean is full of all kinds of colors

and i see all kinds of things when i look at you

and i want to explore you with my tenni shoes off

standing ankle deep in a tide pool, with my khaki pants rolled up

and to say that you are funny

would be like saying that the night sky is black

cause the night sky is filled with stars and comets and planets that no one has seen yet

and i want to look at you

lying down on my front lawn

ill try to take you all in at once

but you just go on and on and on

D