Dream Pie  

This is all that is left of the Dream Pie.  Yummy!

Brian’s Dreams came true last night. I made a Dream Pie!  And, oh baby it is delicious.  It’s inexepensive, too.  I purchased all of the ingredients from Save-a-Lot.  Although, I do not know the exact cost of the dessert, I know it’s not much.  It’s light and fluffy.  More, you can make it in any flavor of pudding so it suits a range of tastes and tummies.  I think this would make a great summer recipe. 

2 (1 1/3 ounce) envelopes dream whip brand whipped dessert topping mix
2 3/4 cups cold milk, divided
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 (3 1/2 ounce) packages jell-o brand instant pudding mix, any flavor
1 baked graham cracker pie crust
  1. Beat whipped topping mixes, 1 cup of the milk and vanilla in large bowl with electric mixer on high 6 minutes or until topping thickens and forms peaks.
  2. Add remaining 1-3/4 cups milk and pudding mixes; beat on low speed until mixed.
  3. Beat on high speed 2 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally.
  4. Spoon into pie shell.
  5. Refrigerate at least 4 hours.
  6. Garnish as desired.
  7. Store leftover pir in refrigerator.

*I made a lot of errors when I made this.  For instance, I didn’t have a graham cracker crust.  I used a crust that needed baking as I didn’t put it into the oven until I had made the filling.  Considering this, the filling had already begun to “set up” and the pie crust was warm.  Oh, and I used evaporated milk.  I didn’t “divide” it.  I don’t have any idea how to divide milk.  Uh, Chrissy-my-dear-cooking-friend can you help with this?  I used vanilla pudding — one fat free, one regular.  Even with all the diversions from the instructions it was really, really good. It is very sweet. This is not for dieters. 

You can vary the recipe to create a range of flavors.  For instance, you can use Oreo pudding with an Oreo crust for an Oreo Pie.