Sloppy Joe and Green Beans  Manwich
Supper was super easy tonight.  The menu:  Sloppy Joe’s, green beans and sweet tea (of course).  And, did I say hyper-sonic, lickety-split, like super fast?  Seriously, it took about 20 minutes…tops. Brian was running late from work.  More, we were in a rush to get to the Downtown Statesboro Christmas Celebration.  The recipe was perfect for the tight schedule.  

Sloppy Joe in the pan  

Quick and Easy Manwich Sloppy Joe Preparation

  1. Brown 1 lb. lean ground beef (or 3/4 lb. ground turkey) in  skillet until no longer pink; drain.
  2. Stir in one 15.5 or 16-ounce can of Manwich; heat through.
  3. Serve on hamburger buns.

Shizam.  It’s all done.  Yes, it is really that fast.  Brian is easy to please so it worked.  I don’t recommend it if you are in the mood for something tasteful and savory.  However, it is faultless in a pinch. 

If you are on a budget, I bet this meal is on the frugal list.  I bought the Manwich at Save-A-Lot so I know it was inexpensive.  I have never made a Manwich before as I don’t remember my mother EVER serving it.  But, I do remember the commercials from my childhood.  It’s a robust tasting, fun meal. 

Here’s the History of the Manwich:
Hunt’s introduced Manwich Sloppy Joe Sauce in 1969. In the 1970s, the brand began using the slogan, “A sandwich is a sandwich, but a Manwich is a meal.” Today, Manwich continues to be a family meal pleaser. “Make tonight a Manwich night!”

*Do you want to know more about the Manwich?  If so, click here.

*If you REALLY want to make a Manwich try Nicole at Pinch My Salt’s recipe.  Her post on the Ultimate Manwich make mine flale in comparison!  She’s cookin’ with gas, compadres.  Compared to her trophy Manwhich, Brian really got jipped.  Simply looking at the pictures of her Ultimate Manwich make my mouth water.

Have YOU ever cooked a Manwich?