I found another commercial that I really like. Isn’t it weird that I like commercials? Blame it on five years in the UGA J-school or ADD-like attention span but I really dig some commercials.  Similar to my Ordinary Miracle/CVS Commercial post, I decided to do a little investigating. Snoop. Snoop. Snoopy.

The weird thing is:  I don’t watch much television – whether you believe me or not.  With two posts about commercials I know it is hard to buy what I am selling but I am telling you it IS the truth.

The trend to include songs in commercials must be successful because it is grabbing my attention. Is it grabbing yours?

A Few of My Favorite Things is one of my favorite songs, pardon the pun.   Mrs. Ann, Allison’s Mom used to sing this to us as children.  I think of her. I think of Julie Andrews

 

I think of my sister who watched The Sound of Music over and over and over as a child (actually, I think she still watches it every time  the opportunity arises).  I bubble with happiness. Oh, these are a few of my favorite things.  When the dog bites. I can hear the commercial now.  When the bee’s sting.  I love the way the singer says Fav – or – rit things. 

It is the BEST song, with or without the commercial.  I am not just saying that I like the song. I REALLY do.  I like it so much that I purchased it for B’s playlist months ago.   Doesn’t it make you think of Maria singing to the Von Trapp children to soothe them during a thunderstorm?

Penelope Fortieris cast in the commercial. She sings it well for the commercial.  The rendition is catchy. I especially like the way her voice shakes during the horse ride and echos in the fencing scene. 

Here is the commercial in the case you have not seen it along with the lyrics to the commercial.

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite thingsWhen the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad

The ad is a part of the priceless campaign.  Here is the list: 
Riding Boots : $600
Vintage Helmet: $125
Dive Mask: $125
Zero Gravity Flight: $3700
Fencing Foil $97
Singing Lessons $183
Getting the most out of life:
Priceless

iTunes link Buy song from iTunes

amazon - The Sound of Music (1965 Film Soundtrack - 40th Anniversary Special Edition) Buy album from amazon

Penelope’s Myspace page is here.

*Photo By the hanner