simple salad : home
Originally uploaded by aiyah

Okay, so I am trying to lose some weight. I don’t know if I can still call it baby weight, but we were first introduced during my pregnancy.

I have been trying to eat more salads. I really like salads and since I am tring to regulate my calories I am trying to eat more of them. But wait a minute. I don’t know if I should be eating more salads! I think I am patting myself on the back for something that is a dietary devil. While lettuce and raw vegtables don’t contain calories, by the time I have my salad fixed it has the fat and calorie equivalent of a hot fudge sundae. Yikes!

Apparently, I should be going more lightly on ranch. Oh, dear ranch, thou are the highest and most mighty dressing. How I love you! But, a quarter cup ladle adds 292 calories and 30 grams of fat. And, the cheese. My favorite topping. The Big Cheese. And, although colorful cheddar cheese may look like an angel it has 110 calories and 9 grams of fat per quarter cup serving! I usually top my salad with a tiara of toasty croutons, oh you innocent looking little bread pieces. Amazingly, croutons can add more than 200 calories and 7.3 grams of fat to your bowl. And, then there’s one of my favorite little salad adornments: potato and macaroni salads. Both, are between 250 – 400 whopping calories with 12 – 26 fat grams.

I guess, I should still have salads but use Italian dressing, carrots, sunflower seeds, and saltine crackers. It will hard to pass up the ranch, cheese, croutons and potato salads. But, a girls got to do what a girls got to do.

Help someone else be salad bar savvy and forward this post. They will probably react like me, with amazement. Little did I know, what I thought was good is really bad. I could have had a sundae instead!

Want to share your tips or recipes? Leave them in the comment box.