I am still trying to incorporate more raw foods into my diet. Tonight, though, I made yummy pork chops. I know, my wonder probably amazes you. How can one thoughtfully ponder, “where does the weight come from?”You must think I have lost my mind. Don’t fret. I am simply having a flare up. It’s my dining amnesia again. I forget the terrible things that I ate yesterday…this morning…and for snack today. Oh boy. Why DO I wonder?

This recipe is for my north of the mason dixon line cousins who read this blog. Come on ya’ll. Eat with the Hulsey’s tonight. Grab a pork chop, a biscuit, and a glass of sweet tea. You are dining southern style!

Pork chop. Pork Chop. Give me little sop.
Makes Brian’s mouth go flippity flop!

When you read that, hon, I hope it makes you smilevs. wanting to shoot me.

Enjoy.

  • 6 thick pork chops
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 cup white wine, or broth
  • 4 potatoes, thinly sliced
  • 2 large onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 teaspoon dried leaf thyme
  • 1/4 cup (4 tablespoons) minced fresh parsley, divided
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 1/2 cup soft bread crumbs, tossed with 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried leaf thyme

Brown pork chops in oil. Increase heat and add wine, scraping up browned bits. Place pork chops in baking pan; pour in pan juices. Top with potatoes, sliced onion, 1 teaspoon thyme, and 3 tablespoons of the parsley. Pour beef broth around sides. Cover tightly with foil and bake at 350 for 30 to 40 minutes. Take out of the oven and sprinkle with buttered bread crumbs and remaining parsley and a little more thyme. Put back in oven and bake for about 5 to 10 minutes longer, until crumbs are lightly browned.

Photo by Lelonopo

Other posts about pork chops:

Adams Wife, Chef Jef’s Recipes, Angie’s Simple Recipes,