Bobbing among the gifts in the Happy Pack from The Rambling Housewife was a book.  The book, Into the Wild, arrived with perfect timing. Brian and I watched the DVD several weeks ago as we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the fascinating movie. We loved it.  The book was equally as captivating. I couldn’t put it down.

Having watched the Sean Penn film and read Krakauer’s book, a curiosity rests among the bank of my mind. Who WAS Chris McCandless?  Who was the sister that he so dearly loved? 


I am disappointed the book did not include more photos of Alexander Supertramp, nor the DVD.  Each references his journal and his still shots. Why weren’t they included?

I have researched a bit. Here is what I found:

I’ve found some for you.

Other links you might find interesting:

Part of Bus 142 sold on eBay

A picture of Bus 142

Sean Penn’s Latest Passion On Oprah

A good post about Chris (with over 600 comments as of today!)

Documentary of Chris McCandless

Into the Wild Movie – Official Website

Google Earth Community: Christopher McCandless
This Google Earth community page shows a satellite photo of the bus where Chris McCandless’s body was found.

The Cult of Chris McCandless

Adventures of Alexander Supertramp

Squidoo’s Christopher McCandless entry

Have you read this book?  I have some friends that think it was “weird.” What do you think?  Were you disappointed with the disclusion of the photos?

*Picture by chriso2000