Versailles

Click on the picture to go to the Photo Album.

Did you know that Marie Antoinette had a baby B?  I couldn’t help but think of that as we treked the massive estate. If I remember correctly, Marie’s Beatrice lived a short life of one or two years old. 

Despite study, pictures, and films, I did not understand the majesty of Versailles until the visit. Although I would like to think I would have been a  member of the royal court, chances are that I would not. I think I would have been one of the population quietly plotting the revolution as I moved forests, cleaned the stables, or performed my juggling act . The royalty was seriously out of control. It is gorgeous.

Marie Antoinette and her children, 1786–1787. Sophie Hélène Béatrix, originally in the cradle, was painted out after her death. By Marie Louise Élisabeth Vigée-Lebrun

Marie Antoinette and her children, 1786–1787. Sophie Hélène Béatrix, originally in the cradle, was painted out after her death. By Marie Louise Élisabeth Vigée-Lebrun . When Beatrix died she was painted out of the picture. Weird, huh.