“One generation plants the seeds and the next one gets the shade”

 

I don’t know if you know, but Grandmother is The Butterfly Girl! She was recently honored for a life time of community service by the Nashville Better Home Town  with a Sunday afternoon reception at Mimi’s Cafe.
The South Georgia group surprised the 82 year old with the unveiling of a bronze statue at the event. It is called the Butterfly Girl. The statue will be placed on the grounds of the Nashville Community Center. While describing the statue she said, “you won’t believe…it’s almost as tall as I am.”

This fine honor esteems her. I can tell as she bubbles with excitement at the mention of the acclaim.  Nashville could not have chosen a better way to celebrate her.  I am so proud of her and so happy for her magnification. She deservies it.

“I was so surprised that someone would do this for me. I couldn’t even say anything,” Grandma recounted the the moment they presented her with the figure.

The candid, heartfelt reception is detailed on the front page of the June 3, 2009 edition of The Berrien Press. “And, it’s in color,” she proclaimed with splendid amazement as she handed me my copy.

Grandmother does do a lot for her community. I can not think of another person more deserving.  Nor can I think of a finer way to commend her. The reception including the surprise unveiling of the statue is perfect!
 
Appreciative and spirited she shared the details of the afternoon with Beatrice and I including all the gifts, the cards, the photos and the video. I am posting as much as I can here (for the fam, like us who could not make it). I know you will enjoy it as much as I did. 
If you get a chance, watch the video. It is really cute.

The Invitation

Mrs Margie Tygart with the Butterfly Girl Statue

Grandmother with grandchildren (not all of us : )

The Tygarts at the event

I hope you can read the delightfully written article. It charmingly includes quotes like from Ms. Idelle that describe Grandmother as the “Ultimate Party Girl.” I love it!

 

 Oh, and here is the video. Enjoy.