In the spirit of the Griner GangMemory Walk Team, hereis aquick post including afew memories of Dad. Like Marcy(who lost her Mom at the same time last year), I have difficulty explaining how I feel about the death of my parent. The difficulty arises when I explain my grief to others…and to myself. More, most of the time I am smiling about his life while there a things that will spark a tear. I am attempting to rejoice, revere and be glorious in the celebration of his wonderful life, rather than be sad and selfish about it. He was a fabulous Papawho led a great life. I want to be happy and merry in it. I want to have Good Grief that is uplifting, powerful, and inspirational.

Off of the top of my head these are somethings that remind me of him (and make me smile!):

  • Oreo’s dipped in milk
  • Grape Koolaid
  • Over Sweetened Tea
  • The Kiwanis Ogeechee Fair Parade
  • The Pancake House at the Kiwanis Ogeechee Fair
  • Arrowheads
  • Storytelling
  • The Battle of Bloody Marsh
  • Dune Buggies
  • John Wayne
  • Casablanca
  • The UGA Bookstore Fall Catalog
  • Worn Brown Lazy Boy Recliners
  • Blue Camero’s from the seventies
  • Old Blue and Yellow Addidas Running Shoes
  • Sayings like, “this is so good it will make your tongue slap your brains out.”
  • Ice Cream
  • Rear Windows with multiple stickers
  • Football, Football, Football
  • Southeast Bulloch Football
  • College Football especially Georgia Southern Eagles and Georgia Bulldawgs
  • Georgia Southern Booster Club
  • Snooky’s Breakfast
  • Parades
  • Toast with Letters made of Butter
  • “All aboard that’s gettin’ aboard. If you aren’t getting a board, get a plank.”
  • Molly Gogs
  • Old Spice
  • Lacoste Shirts
  • Astronomy Magazine
  • Discovery Magazine
  • Ag Hill at UGA
  • Vince Dooley
  • Banjo’s
  • Red Man
  • The Beach House
  • Shoney’s
  • Pizza (especially the old Statesboro Pizza Inn)
  • His Signature
  • Janie Frickie
  • Wonderful World by Sam Cooke
  • Loud snoring
  • Bright Yellow Trucks
  • Ms. Ann Platt’s Tea Cakes
  • “I can’s see through you. You must be drinkin’ muddy water,” he would say if anyone was standing between he and the television! (Aunt Kathy reminded me of this : ) one)
  • Moogie