I recently bought a pint of coconut oil in hopes of using it. I know absolutely nothing about using coconut oil. Hellooo girls?? Does anyone use this? I have googled it, looked it up in recipe books and asked everyone I know. Despite my efforts, the fresh canister sits atop the counter unopened. It intimidates me, I guess.

There a million uses for this product. From shampoos, to skin moisturizer, to smoothies, and much more, this item is allegedly versatile. I hear it is a miracle food. I would love to use in my kitchen.

Tonight I have found an easy recipe. I AM going to use this. I promise myself. I am. I am.

With the moderate list of ingredients (three!), I have everything I need. So, with a little luck maybe I can dip the first tablespoon into the container tomorrow and we can all clink our spoons in a toast to healthier eating around here.

Here is the recipe:

QUICK AND TASTY COCONUT SPUDS (POTATOES)

Ingredients:

1 LARGE BAKING POTATO PER PERSON (preferably organic)

1 CLOVE GARLIC PER PERSON (preferably organic)

1 DESSERT SPOON OF ORGANIC VIRGIN COCONUT OIL PER PERSON

Preheat oven to 200oC. Melt the coconut oil in the oven in a large baking dish. Peel and thickly slice the potatoes and the garlic and place them in the dish, making sure they are well covered with the melted coconut oil. Sprinkle to taste with organic sea salt. Check them after 20 minutes and turn. Cook for a further 20 minutes, or until crunchy (and very yummy!)

Simply Fresh Produce: Idaho Potatoes photo uploaded by Fred_T