Beauty is fleeting. And, so is life.

I’ve always known that great things sit atop cake stands… but this arrangement I did with my family for Pottery Barn, captured by the crazy talented Diana Daley Photographers is an absolute perfect display of whimsical, laid back sophistication. I mean, seriously have you ever seen baby blueberries, fresh cut maple leaves and a dried longleaf hydrangea look so beautiful before?

Being with your favorite women (with strong ideas and creative energies) surrounded by a gorgeous garden all makes for a day of beauty and one really interesting arrangement!  :) And you can see the whole project with my Mom, Grandmother and cousin if you click right here.

My favorite colors for spring are interesting including a variety of natural yellows,whites, corals, and deep greens. From buds to blooms to crumpling leaves in decay I incorporate all stages of life for a loose, organic, lush, natural and wild look.

What flowers should you use? Whatever makes you smile! I love expressive flowers like peonies, ranunculus and sweet peas, and rich roses alongside local, seasonal varieties. I am fond of flowers I’ve grown, or someone I know has grown – like from my Grandmother’s garden.

Nature has the best flowers. Whether foraging yourself or visiting others that do, local growers passionate about growing beautiful flowers are everywhere. Farmer’s Markets & independent garden stores are the best resource for local flowers. I love to visit mine. However, snipping greenery from pretty plants, yard trees, and bushes on your walk home is just perfect. Urban foraging is a great way to add loose, organic movement to your arrangement.

For a wild, lyrical look I recommend asymmetrical design verses geometric styles. If you look at your design and you love it then trust yourself. You’ve got it!

My grandmother, Margie Tygart, is the 87 year old in the pics. She’s a flower expert. In fact,there is a statue in her town center in honor of her natural flower arrangements called The Butterfly Girl. The video link is below. Margie says, “don’t be afraid to cut your flowers at different heights—having depth and variation will give your arrangement an airy and natural feel.”

While vases are classic vessels, I favor unusual pieces with large openings. A cake stand is perfect! A wider opening means more flowers. Plus, it allows them to fall naturally and encourages more movement.

A cake stand flower arrangement is fabulous for showers, events, rehearsal dinners and wedding because the base can be kept for years to come. It’s so meaningful and resourceful. It’s gorgeous!

It’s really all about creating a beautiful little platter, a pretty story atop the charger of your life.The heights & textures of your greatest dreams, and all the things that have make you – you make the most beautiful vignette. Everything you need can be found within you and around you.

You’ll be amazed at what you are capable of creating.

I’d love to see your story exactly as you arrange it atop your Pottery Barn cake stand.

Show me. Good luck and merry flower making!

Cake Stand: Pottery Barn

Venue: Garden of the Coastal Plain

Photography: Diana Daley Photography

Floral Design: Colonial House of Flowers

Stylist: Lauren Weems, Camp Makery

Supplies: Syndicate Sales

Flowers: Statesboro Farmer’s MarketCalifornia Flowers

Inspiration: Slow Flowers by Debra Prinzing